CSO – Aug 11

August 11
Guests in the House

Leopold Stokowski begins this parade of guest conductors with Khachaturian’s Third Symphony followed by John Williams conducting his Suite from Memoirs of a Geisha featuring cellist Yo-Yo Ma. Neeme Järvi is next with Kodály’s Dances of Galánta, and Pierre Monteux concludes the broadcast with Franck’s Symphony in D minor.

Aram Khachaturian

Symphony No. 3 in C Major
Leopold Stokowski, conductor

John Williams

Suite from I for Cello and Orchestra
Yo-Yo Ma, cello
John Williams, conductor

Zoltán Kodály

Dances of Galánta
Neeme Järvi, conductor

César Franck

Symphony in D Minor
Pierre Monteux, conductor