CSO – July 21

July 21
Alsop & Vondráček

Marin Alsop returns to the Orchestra Hall podium to lead Elgar’s Enigma Variations. Opening the program, we hear Barber’s First Symphony, followed by Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto, featuring Lukáš Vondráček. Selections from West Side Story—composed by Alsop’s mentor Leonard Bersntein—complete the broadcast.


Marin Alsop

Samuel Barber

Symphony No. 1, Op. 9

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18
Lukáš Vondráček, piano

Edward Elgar

Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36 (Enigma)

Leonard Bernstein

Prologue, Tonight, Rumble, and Somewhere from West Side Story
Daniel Barenboim, conductor