CSO – Sep 15

September 15
Mäkelä Conducts Shostakovich 10

Sol Gabetta, whose “enthusiastic music-making and animated style are completely infectious” (Classical Voice), makes her CSO debut in Shostakovich’s captivating Cello Concerto No. 1 — a riveting journey through themes of defiance, sorrow, and triumph. Electrifying conductor Klaus Mäkelä frames the program with Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, a searing portrait of the composer’s tormented life in Stalinist Russia, and the U.S. premiere of Sauli Zinovjev’s vibrant Batteria.


Klaus Mäkelä

Richard Strauss

Excerpt from Don Juan, Op. 20
Fritz Reiner, conductor

Sauli Zinovjev

U.S. Premiere

Dmitri Shostakovich

Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major, Op. 107
Sol Gabetta, cello

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93