May 4 – SFSO

May 4
Bartók, Herrmann, and Gruber

Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts the San Francisco Symphony in Béla Bartók’s ominous The Miraculous Mandarin, Bernard Herrmann’s Suite from the film Psycho, and HK Gruber’s raucous Frankenstein!! with baritone Christopher Purves.

CONDUCTOR: Esa-Pekka Salonen
SOLOIST: Christopher Purves, baritone*

Bernard Herrmann (restored and edited Mauceri, John): Psycho: A Narrative for String Orchestra
Béla Bartók: Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19
Heinz Karl Gruber: Frankenstein!!*