SFCMF May 21

May 21
Halvorsen & Tchaikovsky

The 2024 Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival radio series begins with two gorgeous Romantic works. Chad Hoopes, Eric Kim, and Zoltán Fejérvári perform Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio, Op. 50, “In Memory of a Great Artist,” a beautiful homage to his friend and mentor Nicolai Rubenstein. Two members of the Escher String Quartet, Adam Barnett-Hart and Pierre Lapointe, open the program with a tribute of a different sonority and style: Norwegian composer Johan Halvorsen’s Passacaglia, written on a theme by Handel.

Johan Halvorsen

Passacaglia in G Minor on a Theme by Handel
Adam Barnett-Hart, violin; Pierre Lapointe, viola

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Piano Trio in A Minor, Op. 50
Zoltán Fejérvári, piano; Chad Hoopes, violin; Eric Kim, cello