The Cleveland Orchestra

Saturdays at 7pm

Photo: Roger Mastroianni

The Cleveland Orchestra: A Century of Excellence is a 13-part concert series intended to provide a sense of The Cleveland Orchestra’s rich history. The series features five conductors who were important in the Orchestra’s history: George Szell, Music Director 1946 – 1970; Pierre Boulez, Music Advisor 1970 – 1972; Lorin Maazel, Music Director 1972 – 1982; Christoph von Dohnányi, Music Director 1984 – 2000, Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director 2000 to the present. Robert Conrad hosts along with Bill O’Connell.


April 17

George Szell, conductor
John Browning, piano

WAGNER: “Die Meistersinger” Act 1 Prelude
BARBER: Piano Concerto
SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 9 in C, “Great”

Concert Date: 6/24/1965 – AMSTERDAM CONCERTGEBOUW

April 24

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Bernarda Fink, mezzo-soprano
University of Miami Frost Symphonic Women’s Chorus
Miami Children’s Chorus

MAHLER: Symphony No. 3 in d

Concert Date: 11/17/2012 – ADRIENNE ARSHT CENTER, MIAMI

May 1

Christoph von Dohnányi, conductor
Richard King, horn

WIDMANN: Concert Overture “Con Brio”
MOZART: Horn Concerto No. 2 in Eb, K. 417
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6 in b, Op.74, “Pathetique”

Concert Date: 1/8/2011

May 8

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Malin Hartelius, soprano
Maximilian Schmitt, tenor
Luca Pisaroni, bass-baritone
Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

HAYDN: “The Seasons”

Concert Date: 4/27/2013

May 15

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Julia Fischer, violin

BRAHMS: “Tragic” Overture, Op. 81
BRAHMS: Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73

Concert Date: 1/11/2014

May 22

Lorin Maazel, conductor
Women of the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

BACH: Passacaglia and Fugue in c, BWV 582 – Arr Goedicke
LOEFFLER: “Evocation” (commissioned for the opening of Severance Hall)
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 in c, Op. 68

Concert Date: 2/5/81

May 29

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Christine Brewer, soprano
Alan Held, bass

WAGNER: “Tristan und Isolde” – Prelude and Liebestod from
WAGNER: “Die Walkure” – “Wotan’s Farewell and Magic Fire Music”
WAGNER: “Die Götterdämmerung – Excerpts

Concert Date: 7/13/2013 – BLOSSOM MUSIC CENTER

June 5

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 2 in Bb, D. 125
KORNGOLD: Violin Concerto, Op. 35
STRAUSS: “Aus den Bergen“ Walzer
STRAUSS: Czardas from “Ritter Pasman“
STRAUSS: “Die Libelle“
STRAUSS: Kuss-Walzer


June 12

Pierre Boulez, conductor
The Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

RAVEL: “Daphnis and Chloe” (complete)
STRAVINSKY: “The Firebird” (complete)

Concert Dates: 4/2/70 (“Daphnis and Chloe”); 4/30/05 (“The Firebird”)

June 19

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4 in Bb, Op. 60
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 8 in c, Op. 65

Concert Date: 10/25/2013

June 26

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No.4 in G, Op. 58
BERLIOZ: “ Symphonie fantastique,” Op. 14

Concert Date: 2/2/2013 – ADRIENNE ARSHT CENTER, MIAMI