SFCMF Aug 13

August 13
Schulhoff, Debussy, & Moszkowski

Musical diversity of the very early 20th century is on display in this final week of the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival radio series. The Miami String Quartet presents Five Pieces for String Quartet, a suite of (mostly) dance movements that Erwin Schulhoff wrote in 1923 and dedicated to the French composer Darius Milhaud. Then Gilles Vonsattel and Inon Barnatan present En Blanc et Noir (In White and Black), an abstract name that belies the fury beneath this 1915 work by Debussy. And to close, Jennifer Gilbert, Daniel Phillips, and pianist Katia Skanavi play the Suite in G Minor for Two Violins and Piano, Moritz Moszkowski’s charming composition from 1903.

Erwin Schulhoff

Five Pieces for String Quartet
Miami String Quartet (Benny Kim, Cathy Meng Robinson, violin; Scott Lee, viola; Keith Robinson, cello)

Claude Debussy

En Blanc et Noir (In White and Black) for Two Pianos
Gilles Vonsattel, Inon Barnatan, piano

Moritz Moszkowski

Suite in G Minor for Two Violins and Piano, Op. 71
Jennifer Gilbert, Daniel Phillips, violin; Katia Skanavi, piano