SFCMF Jul 30

July 30
Braunfels String Quintet

In 1828, Franz Schubert published Moments musicaux, a set of six jewel-like pieces of varying difficulty. Inon Barnatan opens the hour with the third and perhaps best-known from the series, the Allegro moderato in F Minor. After that, Jennifer Gilbert is the featured soloist in the Concerto in F Minor, Op. 8, No. 4, “Winter,” from Antonio Vivaldi’s eternally appealing The Four Seasons. We bring the hour to a close with a rarely performed work of great depth and emotional power, Walter Braunfels’s 1944 String Quintet, featuring dual cellos.

Franz Schubert

Moments musicaux, D. 780
Inon Barnatan, piano

Antonio Vivaldi

Concerto in F Minor, Op. 8, No. 4, RV 297, “L’inverno” (“Winter”) from The Four Seasons, Op. 8
Jennifer Gilbert, violin solo; Ida Kavafian, Daniel Phillips, Benny Kim, L.P. How, Daniel Jordan, Alejandro Valdepeñas, violin; Steven Tenenbom, Toby Appel, Theresa Rudolph, viola; Peter Stumpf, Alastair En, cello; Edgar Meyer, bass; Kathleen McIntosh, harpsichord

Walter Braunfels

String Quintet in F-sharp Minor, Op. 63
Jennifer Frautschi, L.P. How, violin; Choong-Jin Chang, viola; Eric Kim, Zlatomir Fung, cello